Tags

, , , ,

Hello!

After having sick kids for the last two weeks, this project took me much longer then I intended!  I am proud to say that my chair makeover is finally done!

I found this beauty at my local Habitat for Humanity ReStore.  I am lucky enough to live near three ReStore locations. I had been looking for the perfect chair.  I needed something cheap enough to experiment on, so for $5 I couldn’t pass it up!

The Experiment?…I found this tutorial from Kristy at Hyphen Interiors for painting upholstery!  I have never messed with upholstery (too many staples for me).  So when I saw that you can paint it… I had to give it a try.

Supplies:

  • Latex Paint
  • Acrylic Paint
  • Fabric Medium (I used Martha Stewart’s Fabric Medium from Michaels)
  • Water Bottle

For mixing your paint & frabric medium you will want to follow the directions on the bottle.

I started by spraying the chair with water. Kristy’s tutorial really explains the importance of this step.  You will want the chair to be very moist.  Then apply a thin coat of latex.  After that dries, repeat the process but this time do a thin coat of acrylic paint.  Repeat until you have the coverage you want.

This is the after:

I love the way it looks … but it is too stiff. My paint was too thick on the last two coats of acrylic.   You can tell in this picture that its definitely not a comfy chair…

I continued researching and found this tutorial from Stacy at Not Just A Housewife.  She recommends using a fabric paint called “SoSoft”.. I think I will try that next time & MUCH thinner coats!

For the body of the chair I mixed up my own chalk paint in Tsunami Grey.  Then I distressed, glazed, and waxed.  One day this chair may be an upholstery experiment… but for now it was a good learning and experience and a great photo prop!

Linking up here:


Photobucket

The Southern Product Queen

Thanks for stopping by!

Traci

